Page 2 of 3

Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 7:02 am
by Zwaxy
I tried what you suggested about the interlace setting, but as soon as I left service mode it changed back.

Perhaps that's because I have nvram disabled?

Chris.

Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 7:16 am
by mahlemiut
Don't reset, just exit test mode normally.

Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 7:39 am
by Zwaxy
So I scanned all the source code looking for all calls to time() - that's the function call which gets the current real time.

It's in quite a few source files, and only one of them (neogeo.c) has the fix for playback/record:

c:/Chris/programs/mame/src/drivers/ddenlovr.c
c:/Chris/programs/mame/src/drivers/namcos12.c
c:/Chris/programs/mame/src/drivers/othldrby.c
c:/Chris/programs/mame/src/drivers/pgm.c (twice)
c:/Chris/programs/mame/src/drivers/stv.c (twice)
c:/Chris/programs/mame/src/drivers/suprnova.c
c:/Chris/programs/mame/src/machine/midwayic.c
c:/Chris/programs/mame/src/machine/neogeo.c
c:/Chris/programs/mame/src/windows/config.c (maybe : srand(time(0)))

These may or may not be affecting the reliability of the recording and playback for any games using these source files.

Chris.

Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 8:00 am
by mahlemiut
From src/drivers/suprnova.c

Code: Select all

static READ32_HANDLER( msm6242_r )
{
	struct tm *tm;
	time_t tms;
	long value;

	if(record != 0 || playback != 0)
		return 0;

	time(&tms);
	tm = localtime(&tms);

Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 8:02 am
by Zwaxy
Aah yes, you're right.

I didn't look very hard. :)

Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 8:38 am
by mahlemiut
I don't remember any issues with PGM games before, but still, it's be a good idea to make it and the rest of these drivers to use a static date/time for record/playback. Note that PGM expects a valid date too, or it apparently won't work.

Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 9:49 am
by Zwaxy
It's been a very long time since I was on the MAME developers list. What's the procedure for getting code changes into the official tree now? Any idea?

Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 2:23 pm
by mahlemiut
The e-mail address to send it to is on the MAME site somewhere... downloads page from memory. Last I remember, it was just sent directly to Gridle.

Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 6:08 pm
by sawys
Chad wrote:i think rtc involves a command line option (need to do a search to figure out what it is or wait for sawys to respond), and i think it does affect playbackability, but i did not use it, nor did i used the NON official 89 release to play it back, in windows xp with sound.
EDIT, i DID use the official release to play it back btw.
I don't know what you want me to say but the only thing i know is that with my Athlon, i only have the correct speed if RDTSC is cored.
The other times, if i record a game, the recording speed is almost 99 or 100 % but in reality it may be under like with scramble spirits.
If you want i can post here two recordings of mr driller.
One with RDTSC and one without and you could see that speed without RDTSC is 100% for me with my Athlon 1Ghz but speed is not the same with RDTSC (this one is the real speed).
That's why i said that maybe i am not the only one with this problem. Maybe the best way is to ask the time of the playback to verify if it was recorded at the good speed ?

Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2004 8:51 pm
by Chad
wow you're really getting 100% with an athalon 1ghz and mrdriller? shiat. also could you say what you do to make the rtsdc cored or not cored? is it a command line option or something else, thanks.

Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 12:13 am
by The TJT
Ahhh, finally, techno-talk :)
(two fingers in air, Conan impression)

Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 2:20 am
by Weehawk
Chad wrote:wow you're really getting 100% with an athalon 1ghz and mrdriller?
No. Not possible.

What he's saying is that without RDTSC it reports 100%. (incorrectly)

With RDTSC it will report the lower, correct speed.

This problem was discovered with his scramble spirits recording. If it was ever determined exactly what caused this, it wasn't publicly explained (and perhaps should not be).

Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 2:29 am
by mahlemiut
For those who actually want to play Mr Driller on a 1GHz system at about full speed, go download Zinc. (http://www.emuhype.com/)

Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 3:04 am
by Weehawk
mahlemiut wrote:For those who actually want to play Mr Driller on a 1GHz system at about full speed, go download Zinc. (http://www.emuhype.com/)
Yeah, I meant it was impossible with MAME of course.

Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2004 8:07 am
by Zwaxy
I played Mr. Driller for the first time last night and scored over 800,000 on the 1000m game, almost twice the high score. It gave me a 200k 'driller bonus' at the end for some reason, which I guess the current high score must have missed.

Perhaps the fact that it was only running at 30% speed helped? :)