WolfMAME - not plus

General discussion on MAME, MARP, or whatever else that doesn't belong in any of the other forums

Moderators: mahlemiut, seymour, QRS

BeeJay
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 588
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 1:40 am

Post by BeeJay »

PS: Who scrolls a list in Wolf106 looking for a particular game or scrolls a list in Windows Expleror looking for a particular file? Just click the first entry in the list and then start typing the name that you're after, with < ½ a second between each keystroke, and it locates to that file nice and quickly.... :wink:
User avatar
The TJT
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2479
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 10:56 am
Location: 20 Grand Palace

Post by The TJT »

I wonder if we lose some easy to set options for wolf not being mameplus?
It's nice how you can set up different game-specific options for a single game in wolfmame(click gamename with mouse rightbutton)...such as choosing controller, "minimal analog value for controller input", resolution, frameskip etc.
I mean, how easy is it to set up these values for many different games at regular mame: Where to edit these game specific settings, or should I use .bat for each game?
Is there an "minimal analog value for controller input"-option at regular mame, how to use it etc...?

Not that I would have any ambitions for later than 106 versions...untill Turbosub, analog vector generator fix or something equally interesting improvements are made.
User avatar
The TJT
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2479
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 10:56 am
Location: 20 Grand Palace

Post by The TJT »

I wrote: Is there an "minimal analog value for controller input"-option at regular mame, how to use it etc...?
Ok, after small research, I think I get the wanted result using "mame gamename -mouse -a2d 0.20" , and could make a bat.
-----------
Also, I see, at MAME106 if you type -createconfig /cc"
, you get mame.ini created

If I wanted to do same here, I should use:

Code: Select all

### Input device options ###
mouse                   1
.
(snip)
.
a2d_deadzone            0.200000
# ctrlr                 <NULL> (not set)
How can I use these mame.ini options for a single game: deadzone being 0.20 for one game only, for other games it would be default(0.30)?
Can I make a gamename.ctrlr or something?

It would be nice to have a wolfmameplus update every once in a while.
User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4188
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut »

MAME parses ini files in this order:
mame.ini
<driver>.ini
<parent>.ini
<clone>.ini (if game is a clone)

The extra ini files may need to be in the INI folder (by default). Only options you want changed from those in mame.ini need to be included in the file.

And yes, you could certainly create a ctrlr file. Hope you like XML. It's the future. :)

The following example maps player 3 controls to the primary controller.

Code: Select all

<mameconfig version="10">
    <system name="default">

<!-- 3P controls, so I can easily use Ralph in Rampage World Tour :) -->

        <input>
            <port type="P3_JOYSTICK_UP" mask="1" index="18" defvalue="1">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_UP
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="P3_JOYSTICK_DOWN" mask="2" index="19" defvalue="2">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_DOWN
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="P3_JOYSTICK_LEFT" mask="4" index="20" defvalue="4">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_LEFT
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="P3_JOYSTICK_RIGHT" mask="8" index="21" defvalue="8">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_RIGHT
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="P3_BUTTON2" mask="16" index="22" defvalue="16">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON2
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="P3_BUTTON3" mask="32" index="23" defvalue="32">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON3
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="P3_BUTTON1" mask="64" index="24" defvalue="64">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    JOYCODE_1_BUTTON1
                </newseq>
            </port>
            <port type="SERVICE" mask="16" index="74" defvalue="16">
                <newseq type="standard">
                    KEYCODE_F2 OR JOYCODE_1_BUTTON9
                </newseq>
            </port>
        </input>
    </system>
</mameconfig>
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image
User avatar
The TJT
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2479
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 10:56 am
Location: 20 Grand Palace

Post by The TJT »

mahlemiut wrote:MAME parses ini files in this order:
mame.ini
<driver>.ini
<parent>.ini
<clone>.ini (if game is a clone)

The extra ini files may need to be in the INI folder (by default). Only options you want changed from those in mame.ini need to be included in the file.
Put gamename.ini in to mame-folder, override works, thanks.
User avatar
TRB_MetroidTeam
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1055
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 4:50 am
Location: PR - Brazil

Post by TRB_MetroidTeam »

Hey guys...
I love to know HOW MANY HOURS and HOW MANY TIMES I played my games... generally I have my gamelist sorted by "Playtime"...
Oh cruel world!!! :cry:

I prefer 2D instead of 3D!
I prefer arcade joysticks instead of joypads!
I prefer digital input instead of analog input!
I prefer keyboard instead of mouse...
however, I love MAME graphics interface instead of commandline!!!
Valter "TRB" - The Real Battle
Metroid Team, from Brazil
Crazy Taxi and Crazy Taxi 2 world champions
User avatar
pat33999
MARP Serf
MARP Serf
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 4:53 am
Location: United States

Post by pat33999 »

Since others are describing their own experiences, here's how it works for me:

I always leave MAME open, and have my game list sorted by playcount. If I want to play, I click MAME in the taskbar to bring it up, then right click the game (which is almost always right in front of me, thanks to the playcount sorting), select "Play and record input", and then press Enter.

It sounds a like a lot when I type it out, but the entire process takes maybe 5 seconds. I don't have to memorize any commands, game short names, or anything like that.
User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4188
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut »

I'm sure someone will get off their ass when MAME32 0.107 is released, and compile up a binary.

One major issue I have had with MAME Plus in recent versions is with the way they started handling NVRAM. Previously, it just disabled NVRAM use when -record or -playback was used, which was perfect for MARP use, but lately it's gone to writing the .nv file in your inp folder when recording/playing back. Which completely stops any attempt to stop NVRAM use in the first place.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image
User avatar
The TJT
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2479
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 10:56 am
Location: 20 Grand Palace

Post by The TJT »

TRB_MetroidTeam wrote: I prefer 2D instead of 3D!
I prefer arcade joysticks instead of joypads!
I prefer digital input instead of analog input!
Sounds like you really are a hardcore retro-player, you just don't know it yet!
You'll be deleting MAME any moment now and installing Stella, mark my words ;)

For me it's:
I prefer Robotron instead of Doom!
I prefer arcade joysticks instead of joypads!
I prefer Atari yoke instead of Atari2600 joystick!
I prefer trackball instead of mouse!
However, I prefer daughter over mother, it's a strange world...
User avatar
Blost
MARP Serf
MARP Serf
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2002 4:37 pm
Location: France

Post by Blost »

mahlemiut wrote:It still records speed as it has always done. It still disables pausing as it has always done. These are the core important things. If you want a GUI, use a frontend, or build your own based on MAME32 or MAME Plus.
seems .WLF files are gone too...
User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4188
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut »

Blost wrote:seems .WLF files are gone too...
Yes, I figured there was little point in keeping that going. It really didn't seem to be all that useful (especially CPU speeds, which aren't much help with them varying so much between CPU types), although some of the data it collected is now stuffed into the INP header. I may well expand it in the future, though.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image
User avatar
Zhorik
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 788
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:16 pm

Post by Zhorik »

Personally, I don't have any problem with a command line only interface. I very rarely use the WolfMAME GUI interface anyway. However, I think a lot of people don't like command line interfaces and some will go elsewhere if expected to use the command line. Of course for general submissions, WolfMAME isn't required, but I don't think this is a step in the right direction if we want to encourage new participation.

Of course I understand Barry has limited free time to spend supporting WolfMAME, and fully understand how having Mame Plus in the middle can complicate and break the build process.

-George
User avatar
Weehawk
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2562
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:43 am
Location: Devil's Canyon
Contact:

Post by Weehawk »

Zhorik wrote:Of course for general submissions, WolfMAME isn't required...
Image
John Cunningham (JTC)
Image
User avatar
destructor
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1972
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2002 9:38 am
Location: Poland

Post by destructor »

Haze wrote:Which is faster? me typing "mamed sonic -debug" and "mamed sonic" if i want to run without the debugger and "src/drivers/genesis.c" to edit the genesis driver (automatically launches textpad)
First you must know rom name. Where you find it? In MAME32?
User avatar
Zhorik
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 788
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:16 pm

Post by Zhorik »

Weehawk wrote:
Zhorik wrote:Of course for general submissions, WolfMAME isn't required...
Image
Required, preferred... just a minor semantic difference, right?
Post Reply