K6 - Round 1 - Part 2 - Pole Position II (test track)

Discussion about the MAME Championships
http://sawys.ifrance.com/K7.htm

Moderator: Knockout Coordinators

User avatar
alkey
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 9:53 pm

Post by alkey » Sun Sep 30, 2007 2:57 pm

Since I keep getting error messages when trying to submit, here's another score upload.

I think I may finally have the hang of this.
Attachments
jfp_polepos2-test_31910_wolf119.zip
(30.59 KiB) Downloaded 96 times
"We are the music-makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams." - Willy Wonka

User avatar
dbh
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 202
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2002 7:13 pm
Location: Salem, NH
Contact:

Post by dbh » Sun Sep 30, 2007 3:47 pm

dbh wrote:I definitely will NOT be one of these people.
Ok, I was wrong. I actually managed to finish all four laps :)

And, I got almost exactly 10K more than my previous submission which is almost exactly the score Sawys had listed for me before. Maybe Sawys is psychic??

User avatar
gameboy9
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 683
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2002 3:31 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Post by gameboy9 » Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:18 pm

There's also the opening acceleration trick.

Start the qualification OR race in high gear. Then accelerate to 110s km/h. Then switch to low gear, waiting until you reach the 230s. Then switch back to high gear.

You'll shave about one second off your qualification time... VERY important when getting Pole Position and 2,000 VALUABLE points.
Gameboy9 - Founder and coordinator of MARP Time Trials and Olympiad
Founder - Home Action Replay Page - http://www.homeactionreplay.org
http://gameboy9.marpirc.net

User avatar
MJS
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 10:07 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Post by MJS » Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:26 pm

gameboy9 wrote:VERY important when getting Pole Position and 2,000 VALUABLE points.
Make that 4,000 VALUABLE points 8)

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Post by Chad » Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:43 pm

MJS wrote:
gameboy9 wrote:VERY important when getting Pole Position and 2,000 VALUABLE points.
Make that 4,000 VALUABLE points 8)
he's talking abuot 4000-2000=2000 the difference between 1rst and 2nd.
-skito

User avatar
Agodzilla
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:22 pm
Location: Florence - Italy

Post by Agodzilla » Sun Sep 30, 2007 6:05 pm

I have wrongly submitted a Pole Position 2-test track inp into the Pole Position scoreboard :oops:
please someone delete it since i don't know how to do it..

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4133
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Sun Sep 30, 2007 6:27 pm

alkey wrote:Since I keep getting error messages when trying to submit, here's another score upload.
Strange, as Windows has no issue with it, nor does the standard unzip in Linux (which the server also uses). Maybe ZTNet needs to upgrade their version?

What do you use to compress inps?
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
sawys
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 584
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 10:13 am
Location: France

Post by sawys » Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:08 pm

dbh wrote:
dbh wrote:I definitely will NOT be one of these people.
Ok, I was wrong. I actually managed to finish all four laps :)

And, I got almost exactly 10K more than my previous submission which is almost exactly the score Sawys had listed for me before. Maybe Sawys is psychic??
Lol ^^

I wanted to encourage and motivate you unconsciously :D
Sawys is Sébastien GIRAUD, admin of MAMESCORE, member of MARP, TWIN GALAXIES, RETRO UPRISING and ex-member of JVRM :-D

User avatar
alkey
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 9:53 pm

Post by alkey » Sun Sep 30, 2007 7:33 pm

mahlemiut wrote:
alkey wrote:Since I keep getting error messages when trying to submit, here's another score upload.
Strange, as Windows has no issue with it, nor does the standard unzip in Linux (which the server also uses). Maybe ZTNet needs to upgrade their version?

What do you use to compress inps?
I just use Windows to compress. I had no problems with Pang submissions by the way. May just be something goofy happening.
"We are the music-makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams." - Willy Wonka

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4133
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Sun Sep 30, 2007 9:56 pm

alkey wrote:I just use Windows to compress. I had no problems with Pang submissions by the way. May just be something goofy happening.
With ZTNet, that's not much of a surprise :)
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
Gaplus
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 7:30 am
Location: Italy

Post by Gaplus » Mon Oct 01, 2007 1:51 am

alkey wrote:
Gaplus wrote:60530..

Why the submit option write "some kind of error with the zip file - couldn't unzip it
quote]

I had the same problem. Here's my first try.
Solution:

us they do not have any to be spaces(blank) before of after the name game in our case polepos2-test.

therefore it works!!!

:idea:

LN2
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1669
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 4:46 pm
Contact:

Post by LN2 » Mon Oct 01, 2007 3:54 pm

cmon, you guys don't know the higher speed trick?

I have not gotten it to a science...but when you reach somewhere near 370-375 kph...you INTENTIONALLY just barely scrape the edge of the road or very edge of water or come extremely close to a car when passing it and it throws you into that "hyper gear" as I call it.

what is more insane....only done and seen it once though...is if you can manage to max out that "gear"...and repeat the same thing...you get yet another gear that is so so fast you will crash on the next turn unless you do brake down...but then you have lost that extreme gear....so it has little use.

but yeah, should be able to get over 400kph.

I did not know about the start trick though in high gear....I will have to try that one.

I did know(maybe same actually) of one where you flip back and forth from high to low then to high again after a crash to get back up to speed must faster....maybe it's the same trick...just not explained as well as above. P

LN2
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1669
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2002 4:46 pm
Contact:

Post by LN2 » Mon Oct 01, 2007 4:03 pm

The TJT wrote:At Marp, TG settings should be banned at parent, Namco romset now. Perhaps at all romsets and tracks, since HP has some kick-a*s scores at default settings here. Phil?
uuuh, hp's are played at least at TG settings as well.

Notice how at default Redstar's time is actually a tad better than hp yet the score substantially lower....cuz at default...is easier setting...less cars to pass.

Redstar has an awesome time...anything sub-200 is awesome....but at TG settings that would be harder....but you don't have to be as fast to bear his score then. makes about 1800-2000 points difference on the settings.

I think TG settings are fine and should be allowed in general....see more amazing racing that way...lots more traffic and lane changing going on...in terms of MARP leaderboard....but of course not for this contest....make sure it's default.

you can easily telf if default used by just comparing score and total race time. 200 points per second..so someone 1 second faster will have that 200 more points...plus maybe a couple more cars passed so likely about 300 points higher. if you see 1 second faster and 2000 more points...then they used more difficult settings...so 40 more cars passed.

User avatar
Phil Lamat
Regulation Coordinator
Posts: 2014
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 9:19 am

Post by Phil Lamat » Mon Oct 01, 2007 6:17 pm

The TJT wrote:At Marp, TG settings should be banned at parent, Namco romset now. Perhaps at all romsets and tracks, since HP has some kick-a*s scores at default settings here. Phil?
Well, according to Marp's rules, it's hard to DQ hp's input because it has been played with harder settings.
Or maybe we can make a split to separate default & TG ?
Question : is there a simple way to see if an input has been played with default or TG ?

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4133
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Mon Oct 01, 2007 6:53 pm

Phil Lamat wrote:Question : is there a simple way to see if an input has been played with default or TG ?
After the INP has ended, push F2 to go to service mode. Not entirely sure if DIP switches would revert back to normal after playback though. Certainly to could try to pause at the instant the DIP settings are displayed during startup, if you're quick. :)
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

Post Reply