Silkwormj - Not recording in Wolf206

General discussion on MAME, MARP, or whatever else that doesn't belong in any of the other forums

Moderators: mahlemiut, seymour, QRS

Post Reply
User avatar
Shahbaz
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:25 am
Location: Lahore, Pakistan

Silkwormj - Not recording in Wolf206

Post by Shahbaz » Wed Feb 20, 2019 11:57 am

Hey Guys,

The "Silkwormj" was not recorded in wolfmame 0.206 , it made only 1 kb inp file size of my this score of 3300k , and was not playback either .. !!! :evil:
Attachments
silkwormj.png
silkwormj.png (162.86 KiB) Viewed 1982 times

User avatar
Phil Lamat
Regulation Coordinator
Posts: 2014
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 9:19 am

Re: Silkwormj - Not recording in Wolf206

Post by Phil Lamat » Fri Feb 22, 2019 10:23 am

Don't forget to put the link when you're refearing to an input.
I guess you're probably speaking about this one :
http://marp.retrogames.com/inp/f/1/8/3d ... olf106.zip

Not so important now, as I see you've improved (inp confirmed)

User avatar
Shahbaz
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:25 am
Location: Lahore, Pakistan

Re: Silkwormj - Not recording in Wolf206

Post by Shahbaz » Sat Feb 23, 2019 7:48 am

Thanks Phil Lamat, Actually my question is "Wolfmame 0.206 is not recording the inps" .. So what is Problem?? I bought i7 laptop with 64 bit system couple of months ago..

It was completely not working / opening in 32 bit system, but in 64 bit system it is playing back the inps of marp, but not recording them.. So pls solve it..!!

User avatar
Phil Lamat
Regulation Coordinator
Posts: 2014
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 9:19 am

Re: Silkwormj - Not recording in Wolf206

Post by Phil Lamat » Sat Feb 23, 2019 3:08 pm

Ah ok
Well, I don't know the problem
Maybe Barry or Haze can help ?

User avatar
giro-X
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 528
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:00 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Silkwormj - Not recording in Wolf206

Post by giro-X » Wed Feb 27, 2019 10:03 pm

I don't believe there is an issue specifically with wolf 0.206, as other people submitted with the same version of emulator (see Jarl's, one is confirmed also) and nobody reported issues when it was actually released.
But what I know, I'm a single user.

Just to avoid any doubt, we first have to ensure nothing is wrong on your procedure, so please show us what is the command line you are using, or whatever you are doing exactly to run a recording of inputs.
Note: if you never edited "record.bat" and you are opening it with double click from windows, it creates a nameless INP file (literally ".inp") of some bytes, THEN it asks you what game you want to play - but the recording file is closed. In any case in which the application asks you what game you want to play, then you're sure there won't be a successful recording.

I tried by myself and everything worked fine, even with silkwormj on w206.
Of course after editing record.bat to this:

Code: Select all

mame64 silkwormj -record silkwormj.inp -nvram_directory NUL

User avatar
Shahbaz
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:25 am
Location: Lahore, Pakistan

Re: Silkwormj - Not recording in Wolf206

Post by Shahbaz » Thu Feb 28, 2019 11:44 am

Thanks Giro, I am always using "Batch" files of record and playback. Never used "CMD" due to every time typing there. I like Batch files as it is easy way. So pls solve it using Batch files.. I contacted with mahlemiut but still not solved the issue.. So pls see the snap shot..
Attachments
Wolf 206- Record Issue.jpg
Wolf 206- Record Issue.jpg (182.95 KiB) Viewed 1821 times

User avatar
giro-X
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 528
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:00 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Silkwormj - Not recording in Wolf206

Post by giro-X » Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:42 pm

Ok, found the issue.
You didn't include the game selected in the command line.
It should be
mame64 gamename -record something.inp

so in your case
mame64 silkwormj -record silkwormj.inp

User avatar
Shahbaz
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:25 am
Location: Lahore, Pakistan

Re: Silkwormj - Not recording in Wolf206

Post by Shahbaz » Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:41 pm

giro-X wrote:
Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:42 pm
Ok, found the issue.
You didn't include the game selected in the command line.
It should be
mame64 gamename -record something.inp

so in your case
mame64 silkwormj -record silkwormj.inp

Thanks a lot Giro-X.. Both Batch Files are working fine now..

Putting the gamename on the place of %1 was not in earlier versions. I think i did not understand the English of mahlemiut.
And i noticed that the Difficulty level of the game "silkworm" in wolf106 is very easy and in later versions is 3x Harder. But i discovered a technique for the Rain of Bullets , it does not matter for me now.. 8)

Not touching the games due to busy life, But there is a big convenience with "Silkworm" game presenting a War Atmosphere, Just like Pakistan and India War Atmosphere now a days.. :|

User avatar
Shahbaz
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:25 am
Location: Lahore, Pakistan

Re: Silkwormj - Not recording in Wolf206

Post by Shahbaz » Wed Mar 13, 2019 2:19 pm

My Personal Thought for this game.

The Technique i have found " to stay on the left side on screen then coming the enemies from right upper side can not aim you". never seen before by any player or dont know if japanese records are done like it. I Practiced/played every time from childhood how to avoid the jeep from bullets, I found it just couple of weeks ago when i thought to claim it back, thats why i am not controlling myself to stay on the screen to play easily otherwise it is possible 10 million with 1 life now.!!

And Thanks 'BBH' you improved me.. 8)

User avatar
GHEMANT
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 617
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:11 am
Location: Italy

Re: Silkwormj - Not recording in Wolf206

Post by GHEMANT » Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:25 am

no idea if japanese players use this. However the game is banned for infinite pattern, so no official scores. But I know that SGP-TNK have, at the time, a score of 10,000,000+a with jeep.

User avatar
Shahbaz
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:25 am
Location: Lahore, Pakistan

Re: Silkwormj - Not recording in Wolf206

Post by Shahbaz » Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:29 pm

GHEMANT wrote:
Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:25 am
no idea if japanese players use this. However the game is banned for infinite pattern, so no official scores. But I know that SGP-TNK have, at the time, a score of 10,000,000+a with jeep.
Oh, It is sad news, it is banned now. So if any game is ban in japan then no more official records in whole world . ?? I am not remembering this time that i have read somewhere "there are more than 100 japanese players that have done 10 million scores".

User avatar
GHEMANT
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 617
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:11 am
Location: Italy

Re: Silkwormj - Not recording in Wolf206

Post by GHEMANT » Fri Mar 15, 2019 4:29 am

The game is banned in Japan from the beginning. No idea about the number of players with score above 10,000,000. Out of japan in 20 years of web searching I never see score above 3,400,000.

User avatar
Shahbaz
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:25 am
Location: Lahore, Pakistan

Re: Silkwormj - Not recording in Wolf206

Post by Shahbaz » Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:11 am

Thanks Ghemant, for your infos. :)

Post Reply