Wolfmame 164

General discussion on MAME, MARP, or whatever else that doesn't belong in any of the other forums

Moderators: mahlemiut, seymour, QRS

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Wolfmame 164

Post by simpsons99 » Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:27 pm

I downloaded and installed Wolfmame 164 this morning ..

Anyone else having problems getting it to start the rom from recording? a quick message comes on screen and everything goes away ..

I know the roms are good I tried them by just click on mame to play
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

User avatar
tar
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1209
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 9:25 am
Location: ohio u.s.a.

Re: Wolfmame 164

Post by tar » Fri Aug 07, 2015 5:55 pm

yeah , i was able to get
avefenixl
pheonixass
to work.
But unable to get bzaxxon and jungler (bandi),
a screen in dos,(the one simpson99 refers to )that gives the closest matches pops-up.

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Re: Wolfmame 164

Post by simpsons99 » Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:14 pm

I even tried Phoenix that has been out a long time .. It did the very same thing
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Wolfmame 164

Post by mahlemiut » Fri Aug 07, 2015 7:23 pm

Please run from the command prompt, that way you can see what errors may be occuring.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Re: Wolfmame 164

Post by simpsons99 » Fri Aug 07, 2015 8:05 pm

mahlemiut wrote:Please run from the command prompt, that way you can see what errors may be occuring.
there is no other way to record a inp then doing it that way
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Re: Wolfmame 164

Post by simpsons99 » Fri Aug 07, 2015 11:42 pm

ok the problem is the record file that was made for me from here .. No longer works with wolfmame 164 for some reason ..

I tried with the record that came with the mame it quickly goes from the black screen to the list of games .. Then does not record anything it stops when rom loads ..
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Wolfmame 164

Post by mahlemiut » Sat Aug 08, 2015 4:12 am

Not sure what's so hard here...

record <game shortname> <INP filename> [option extra switches]

Visual aid (ignoring the fact that I'm not using Windows):
http://mahlemiut.marpirc.net/console.png
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Re: Wolfmame 164

Post by simpsons99 » Sat Aug 08, 2015 3:13 pm

mahlemiut wrote:Not sure what's so hard here...

record <game shortname> <INP filename> [option extra switches]

Visual aid (ignoring the fact that I'm not using Windows):
http://mahlemiut.marpirc.net/console.png

What is so hard? The black screen quickly posts the message and closes .. There is no time to get what it is saying at all..
Everything has worked fine with 163 what did you change with 164?

Please do not treat me as I am dumb alright?

If this is not figured out I will be retiring and not using anything after 163
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

User avatar
xelnia
MARP Serf
MARP Serf
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:42 am

Re: Wolfmame 164

Post by xelnia » Sat Aug 08, 2015 5:33 pm

simpsons99 wrote:
mahlemiut wrote:Not sure what's so hard here...

record <game shortname> <INP filename> [option extra switches]

Visual aid (ignoring the fact that I'm not using Windows):
http://mahlemiut.marpirc.net/console.png

What is so hard? The black screen quickly posts the message and closes .. There is no time to get what it is saying at all..
Everything has worked fine with 163 what did you change with 164?

Please do not treat me as I am dumb alright?

If this is not figured out I will be retiring and not using anything after 163
Stop double-clicking the record batch file like it's a regular program on your desktop. That's not how it's meant to be used, and it's obvious you're using it that way. This has been explained to you numerous times, with visual aids and step-by-step instructions. It's now up to you to figure it out and stop blaming other people. Or retire.

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Wolfmame 164

Post by mahlemiut » Sat Aug 08, 2015 7:41 pm

simpsons99 wrote:What is so hard? The black screen quickly posts the message and closes .. There is no time to get what it is saying at all..
Everything has worked fine with 163 what did you change with 164?
Apparently, running something from the command prompt is. You'll see any actual errors that way.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Re: Wolfmame 164

Post by simpsons99 » Sat Aug 08, 2015 8:11 pm

mahlemiut wrote:
simpsons99 wrote:What is so hard? The black screen quickly posts the message and closes .. There is no time to get what it is saying at all..
Everything has worked fine with 163 what did you change with 164?
Apparently, running something from the command prompt is. You'll see any actual errors that way.
I do everything like I did before.. Your lack of understanding is a huge problem .. Get a clue ! :oops:
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Wolfmame 164

Post by mahlemiut » Sat Aug 08, 2015 8:39 pm

simpsons99 wrote:I do everything like I did before.. Your lack of understanding is a huge problem .. Get a clue ! :oops:
Only thing I'm understanding is that you're using a batch file as if it were a desktop application. The clue is, it isn't. I cannot diagnose an issue if I don't have any information.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Re: Wolfmame 164

Post by simpsons99 » Sat Aug 08, 2015 11:22 pm

mahlemiut wrote:
simpsons99 wrote:I do everything like I did before.. Your lack of understanding is a huge problem .. Get a clue ! :oops:
Only thing I'm understanding is that you're using a batch file as if it were a desktop application. The clue is, it isn't. I cannot diagnose an issue if I don't have any information.

Well I have always did it this way without any problems .. Now with 164 bang it does not work .. I guess I will not be playing anything that comes out after 163.

I know this is a complete joke to people it should not be .. Please Ban me from here .. Respect me or get rid of me Thank you very much.
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Wolfmame 164

Post by mahlemiut » Sun Aug 09, 2015 4:22 am

The only thing I can suggest is that you check what executable is being loaded - the exe filename changed to mamearcade.exe from 0.163. But since you said it worked in 0.163, I can dismiss that as a possibility, right?

I have been fair and reasonable, I can not tell you what is wrong by telepathy.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

Frankie
Editor
Posts: 905
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 11:16 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Wolfmame 164

Post by Frankie » Sun Aug 09, 2015 1:06 pm

I've only run it from DOS prompt, and it's run fine. No problems at all.
Frankie

Post Reply