Problem with Ghouls'n Ghosts (ghouls)

General discussion on MAME, MARP, or whatever else that doesn't belong in any of the other forums

Moderators: mahlemiut, seymour, QRS

Post Reply
User avatar
empardopo
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:40 pm
Location: Málaga
Contact:

Problem with Ghouls'n Ghosts (ghouls)

Post by empardopo » Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:13 am

I think we have a problem with this game.
I have a friend (Mogue) who has just upload a record in this game. He has played the game using wolfmame 0.151 with difficulty level 4.
However, in the first place jarl69 has a record using wolfmame 0.154 with difficulty level 2.

Is it possible to change the difficulty level to play this game?

Best regards,

empardopo

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 732
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Re: Problem with Ghouls'n Ghosts (ghouls)

Post by simpsons99 » Sun Nov 02, 2014 1:52 pm

No If the people wants to play it on a harder skill level that's there choice and get a lower score .. This game is hard anyways
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

User avatar
empardopo
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:40 pm
Location: Málaga
Contact:

Re: Problem with Ghouls'n Ghosts (ghouls)

Post by empardopo » Mon Nov 03, 2014 3:27 am

I don't understand. No rules for this game? Can I play in any difficulty level?

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4133
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Problem with Ghouls'n Ghosts (ghouls)

Post by mahlemiut » Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:26 am

The general rule is "default settings or harder, or TG settings".

The difficulty comes when the default settings change over time.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
empardopo
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 226
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:40 pm
Location: Málaga
Contact:

Re: Problem with Ghouls'n Ghosts (ghouls)

Post by empardopo » Tue Nov 04, 2014 3:39 am

mahlemiut wrote:The general rule is "default settings or harder, or TG settings".

The difficulty comes when the default settings change over time.
The big problem is:
wolfmame 0.151 default difficulty level is 4
wolfmame 0.154 default difficulty level is 2

Thanks

User avatar
GHEMANT
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 618
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:11 am
Location: Italy

Re: Problem with Ghouls'n Ghosts (ghouls)

Post by GHEMANT » Wed Nov 05, 2014 3:27 am

Use default settings. Default settings should be the rule. When mame have wrong settings, or a new mame version change the old settings for mistake or unknown reasons, you can search in web a original settings for jamma board:

http://otokaru.net/contents/dipsw/ta-to/daimakai.html

level 4 is default settings.

You can change on level 4 in wolf 154 or you can use wolf 151

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4133
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Problem with Ghouls'n Ghosts (ghouls)

Post by mahlemiut » Wed Nov 05, 2014 4:33 am

Uh, that only tells you what the settings are available, not what the factory settings are. The difficulty was changed in Ghouls 'n' Ghosts and Strider to level 2 based on the game manuals.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
GHEMANT
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 618
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:11 am
Location: Italy

Re: Problem with Ghouls'n Ghosts (ghouls)

Post by GHEMANT » Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:38 am

mahlemiut wrote:Uh, that only tells you what the settings are available, not what the factory settings are. The difficulty was changed in Ghouls 'n' Ghosts and Strider to level 2 based on the game manuals.
In that japanese site you can see all settings available for the game (these are the dip switch of original PCB and not settings in mame), but is explain (in japanese of course) which are the default settings. Exemple, all dip switch on off = default.

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4133
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Problem with Ghouls'n Ghosts (ghouls)

Post by mahlemiut » Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:42 am

Ok, I see, running the first sentence through Google Translate tells me that the defaults are all off. Which is in contrast to the US manual (and most Japanese games have easier settings than non=Japanese versions).
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

Despatche
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 9:25 pm

Re: Problem with Ghouls'n Ghosts (ghouls)

Post by Despatche » Fri Jan 16, 2015 11:20 am

Sounds about right. You'd think most games would just have all dips off, then some localizer comes in and starts flipping switches to try and weasel more coins out of people...

Apparently, some games were always factory default to have some dips on. At least Tiger-Heli does this; all dips off is the "lowest" settings with the exception of lives, while the defaults use the higher extend setting, "normal" (2 out of 4) instead of "easy" (1 out of 4) difficulty, etc. Also, the US release has different dips entirely. MAME used to have all dips off for all versions of it a while ago...

kranser
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 333
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2002 11:23 am
Location: London, UK

Re: Problem with Ghouls'n Ghosts (ghouls)

Post by kranser » Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:10 pm

mahlemiut wrote:Uh, that only tells you what the settings are available, not what the factory settings are. The difficulty was changed in Ghouls 'n' Ghosts and Strider to level 2 based on the game manuals.
It's good that the manual settings are documented - but what if the manuals are wrong (as is not too uncommon) and the factory settings are actually different to the published settings?

Post Reply