Prehistoric Isle 2

Discussion of playback questions / problems. Any recording where people have playback problems should appear here.

Moderator: Chad

Prehistoric Isle 2

Postby mahlemiut » Sat Sep 10, 2016 2:58 am

http://replay.marpirc.net/inp/f/3/7/luy ... olf106.zip

Tried default, US and Japanese BIOS, can't get it to playback. Possibly NVRAM, not tested that yet.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image
User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
 
Posts: 4098
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Postby mahlemiut » Sat Sep 17, 2016 5:41 am

- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image
User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
 
Posts: 4098
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Postby Phil Lamat » Sat Sep 17, 2016 7:43 pm

Same here : I got 2M+ for the 1st, and 1M+ for the 2nd.
But I got 15M with -bios 3

The game doesn't generate nvram as far as I know.
User avatar
Phil Lamat
Regulation Coordinator
 
Posts: 1964
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 9:19 am

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Postby RedStar » Sun Sep 18, 2016 12:58 am

He used bios us mvs2 this time.
Attachments
preisle2.png
preisle2.png (38.69 KiB) Viewed 1837 times
RedStar
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 12:40 pm
Location: France

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Postby Phil Lamat » Sun Sep 18, 2016 3:05 am

Good catch, Redstar !
"-bios 2" was the only one I hadn't try
User avatar
Phil Lamat
Regulation Coordinator
 
Posts: 1964
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 9:19 am

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Postby GJTMarper » Sun Sep 18, 2016 9:41 am

(little confused about why the particular bios matters in this game, particularly if NVRAM isn't being generated) :?:
GJTMarper
Button Masher
Button Masher
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 3:42 pm

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Postby giro-X » Sun Sep 18, 2016 11:24 am

GJTMarper wrote:(little confused about why the particular bios matters in this game, particularly if NVRAM isn't being generated) :?:


TG settings perhaps?
I have no clue if for TG an american BIOS is required.
User avatar
giro-X
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
 
Posts: 486
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:00 am
Location: Italy

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Postby Phil Lamat » Sun Sep 18, 2016 12:20 pm

GJTMarper wrote:(little confused about why the particular bios matters in this game, particularly if NVRAM isn't being generated) :?:

It concerns only Neogeo games.
For certain games (all?), some bios make the game easier.
The example coming to my mind is "neodrift" : for this game (read the special rules) us bios is easier and we have decide on Marp to use only the default bios.
User avatar
Phil Lamat
Regulation Coordinator
 
Posts: 1964
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 9:19 am

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Postby giro-X » Sun Sep 18, 2016 3:29 pm

Phil Lamat wrote:
GJTMarper wrote:(little confused about why the particular bios matters in this game, particularly if NVRAM isn't being generated) :?:

It concerns only Neogeo games.
For certain games (all?), some bios make the game easier.
The example coming to my mind is "neodrift" : for this game (read the special rules) us bios is easier and we have decide on Marp to use only the default bios.


Also puzzledp makes it easier. I know no stuff about preisle2 though, we should understand if difficulty actually changes or not.
User avatar
giro-X
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
 
Posts: 486
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:00 am
Location: Italy

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Postby mahlemiut » Sun Sep 18, 2016 6:39 pm

Most games aren't much different, outside of language, although in the case of Prehistoric Isle 2, the Japanese BIOS will give you a 5 point HP bar, instead of lives.
Some people do use the Japanese BIOS for Neo Geo games, for some reason...
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image
User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
 
Posts: 4098
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Postby GHEMANT » Tue Sep 20, 2016 1:59 am

Japanese version and western version have difference about score system but difficulty is the same. Some players use japanese version to compare high-scores with the top Japan. I don't know if there are differences between US and euro bios (as Neo Drift Out).
User avatar
GHEMANT
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 6:11 am
Location: Italy

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Postby tar » Wed Oct 12, 2016 11:03 am

can someone please explain how to switch to bios 2 ?
User avatar
tar
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
 
Posts: 1209
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 8:25 am
Location: ohio u.s.a.

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Postby mahlemiut » Wed Oct 12, 2016 4:56 pm

As mentioned above - -bios 2 or -bios us
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image
User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
 
Posts: 4098
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand


Return to Playbackability

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest