Prehistoric Isle 2

Discussion of playback questions / problems. Any recording where people have playback problems should appear here.

Moderator: Chad

Post Reply
User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4117
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Prehistoric Isle 2

Post by mahlemiut » Sat Sep 10, 2016 3:58 am

http://replay.marpirc.net/inp/f/3/7/luy ... olf106.zip

Tried default, US and Japanese BIOS, can't get it to playback. Possibly NVRAM, not tested that yet.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4117
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Post by mahlemiut » Sat Sep 17, 2016 6:41 am

- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
Phil Lamat
Regulation Coordinator
Posts: 1988
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 9:19 am

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Post by Phil Lamat » Sat Sep 17, 2016 8:43 pm

Same here : I got 2M+ for the 1st, and 1M+ for the 2nd.
But I got 15M with -bios 3

The game doesn't generate nvram as far as I know.

RedStar
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 1:40 pm
Location: France

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Post by RedStar » Sun Sep 18, 2016 1:58 am

He used bios us mvs2 this time.
Attachments
preisle2.png
preisle2.png (38.69 KiB) Viewed 2905 times

User avatar
Phil Lamat
Regulation Coordinator
Posts: 1988
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 9:19 am

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Post by Phil Lamat » Sun Sep 18, 2016 4:05 am

Good catch, Redstar !
"-bios 2" was the only one I hadn't try

GJTMarper
Button Masher
Button Masher
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 4:42 pm

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Post by GJTMarper » Sun Sep 18, 2016 10:41 am

(little confused about why the particular bios matters in this game, particularly if NVRAM isn't being generated) :?:

User avatar
giro-X
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 503
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:00 am
Location: Italy

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Post by giro-X » Sun Sep 18, 2016 12:24 pm

GJTMarper wrote:(little confused about why the particular bios matters in this game, particularly if NVRAM isn't being generated) :?:
TG settings perhaps?
I have no clue if for TG an american BIOS is required.

User avatar
Phil Lamat
Regulation Coordinator
Posts: 1988
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 9:19 am

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Post by Phil Lamat » Sun Sep 18, 2016 1:20 pm

GJTMarper wrote:(little confused about why the particular bios matters in this game, particularly if NVRAM isn't being generated) :?:
It concerns only Neogeo games.
For certain games (all?), some bios make the game easier.
The example coming to my mind is "neodrift" : for this game (read the special rules) us bios is easier and we have decide on Marp to use only the default bios.

User avatar
giro-X
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 503
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:00 am
Location: Italy

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Post by giro-X » Sun Sep 18, 2016 4:29 pm

Phil Lamat wrote:
GJTMarper wrote:(little confused about why the particular bios matters in this game, particularly if NVRAM isn't being generated) :?:
It concerns only Neogeo games.
For certain games (all?), some bios make the game easier.
The example coming to my mind is "neodrift" : for this game (read the special rules) us bios is easier and we have decide on Marp to use only the default bios.
Also puzzledp makes it easier. I know no stuff about preisle2 though, we should understand if difficulty actually changes or not.

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4117
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Post by mahlemiut » Sun Sep 18, 2016 7:39 pm

Most games aren't much different, outside of language, although in the case of Prehistoric Isle 2, the Japanese BIOS will give you a 5 point HP bar, instead of lives.
Some people do use the Japanese BIOS for Neo Geo games, for some reason...
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
GHEMANT
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 615
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:11 am
Location: Italy

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Post by GHEMANT » Tue Sep 20, 2016 2:59 am

Japanese version and western version have difference about score system but difficulty is the same. Some players use japanese version to compare high-scores with the top Japan. I don't know if there are differences between US and euro bios (as Neo Drift Out).

User avatar
tar
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 1209
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2002 9:25 am
Location: ohio u.s.a.

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Post by tar » Wed Oct 12, 2016 12:03 pm

can someone please explain how to switch to bios 2 ?

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4117
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Prehistoric Isle 2

Post by mahlemiut » Wed Oct 12, 2016 5:56 pm

As mentioned above - -bios 2 or -bios us
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

Post Reply