Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Discussion of playback questions / problems. Any recording where people have playback problems should appear here.

Moderator: Chad

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Post by simpsons99 » Sat Oct 18, 2014 3:05 pm

Hello Guys

With the Last couple Versions of Mame 154 and 155 now .. It does not record the Inp .. When I got to look at the recorded Inp .. It only says 1 inp .

I watch it quickly ends on boot up and starts playing the game like Normal .


What going on here? Anyone have a clue?

Thanks for the help guys
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Re: Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Post by simpsons99 » Sun Oct 19, 2014 11:20 pm

Well I guess after wolf 106 and 153 no longer work.. I guess I will not be playing anymore .. Thanks guys for looking and not saying anything
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Post by mahlemiut » Sun Oct 19, 2014 11:58 pm

Well, clearly, 0.155 works for others. A bit more detail on the issue would be helpful. Any useful info output to the console, preferably with -verbose active, would be a start.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Re: Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Post by simpsons99 » Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:13 am

First post I tried telling what is going on..

It does not record anything .. inp recorded amount stays at 1 .
for some reason it does not record anything and quickly stops
It did this with with 154 also


The is the Wolf Mame down loaded from here ..
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Post by mahlemiut » Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:18 am

Not sure what you mean by "inp recorded amount stays at 1" MAME does not record how often you make a recording.

Otherwise you're effectively saying "it's not working" without giving any detail. I'm not a psychic.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Re: Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Post by simpsons99 » Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:58 am

here's a screen shot
Attachments
mame problem.png
mame problem.png (101.78 KiB) Viewed 3259 times
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Post by mahlemiut » Mon Oct 20, 2014 3:17 am

Ok, so the file is created, and is only 1kB in size.

The only reason recording would stop is because you either are out of disk space, or have pressed F3.

Console output would still be useful.

Also, bonus tip: second parameter of record.bat is the INP filename. Use it. Non-Windows treat files starting with a '.' as hidden.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
xelnia
MARP Serf
MARP Serf
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 5:42 am

Re: Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Post by xelnia » Mon Oct 20, 2014 4:15 am

Trying to get Mr. Simpsons to record correctly is a losing effort (see this thread). He will not provide console output since he doesn't know what that means or how to do it.

There is a difference, however, in how MAME is recording INPs based on the method he is using. In 153, double-clicking on the "record.bat" file will open the basic MAME GUI and you can select a game and record a full INP that will be named ".inp" in Windows. However, in 154 and 155 it has stopped recording and now just creates a 1 kb INP with a header and nothing else (regardless of disk space or game length). If you open a 153 INP generated this way in a hex editor the header lists the game. In 154 and 155 the header shows "___empty" as the game. I have no clue why this is happening, but this is the real "issue" Brian is having.

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Post by mahlemiut » Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:06 am

'___empty' is likely the shortname for the dummy driver used when no driver has yet been selected. Guess I'll have to add some sort of parameter checking, although that'll probably just annoy him more, because he won't be reading any output from any batch file. :)
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Re: Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Post by simpsons99 » Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:23 pm

nope no problems with disk space or pushing F3 ... I never pushed F3 In Mame

I do not get this Console your speaking of? I told you WolfMame 154 and 155 both downloaded from here ..
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

BeeJay
MARPaltunnel Wrists
MARPaltunnel Wrists
Posts: 582
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 1:40 am

Re: Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Post by BeeJay » Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:59 pm

mahlemiut wrote:'___empty' is likely the shortname for the dummy driver used when no driver has yet been selected. Guess I'll have to add some sort of parameter checking, although that'll probably just annoy him more, because he won't be reading any output from any batch file. :)
Maybe something like:

Code: Select all

if %1 = "" goto GetGameName
set GameName = %1
goto CheckInpName

:GetGameName
set /p GameName="Enter game name to record:  "

:CheckInpName
if %2 = "" goto GetInpName
set InpName = %2
goto DoRecording

:GetInpName
set /p InpName = "Enter inp name"

:DoRecording
mame %GameName% -record %InpName%.inp
That way, anyone using the record.bat file as intended, from the command prompt and supplying the game & inp names, will work as expected without seeing any annoying prompts asking for the game name and those who want to just double click on the bat file with their mouse, or equivalent, will get prompts asking for the game name and inp name. :)

That's assuming you do actually take the game name and the inp name as parameters 1 & 2 respectively in the record.bat file?!?

Cheers,
BeeJay.

PS: I haven't actually tried what I suggested above in a batch file, I was just writing the 'code' from memory so it may not be 100% correct batch file syntax etc but it gives you the idea. ;)

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Re: Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Post by simpsons99 » Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:44 am

After I record the Inp I name it .. Why am I being treated Like I am new to this?
Help a guy out do not give him the run around
Come on Guys
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Post by mahlemiut » Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:05 am

Because you're using it as if you are?

record.bat and playback.bat take a minimum of two parameters: game shortname, and INP filename. It is not intended as a quick double-click method of making an INP.

Open command prompt, change to the directory containing MAME, record <shortname> <INP filename>

Note that the batch file will add '.inp' to the filename for you.

It might also work from the Run dialog also, if you provide the full path to record.bat or playback.bat.

Otherwise, install QMC2, or install some form of Tcl/Tk and use ui.tcl.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
simpsons99
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 735
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 3:23 am
Location: Snohomish Washington
Contact:

Re: Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Post by simpsons99 » Tue Oct 21, 2014 2:25 am

I just click record it pulls up a list of games I find the game I want .. I click on it and it loads it .. I credit the game up and play it ..

I do not understand using all this codes to load a game .. Just play it .
If you have a FB Account I'm Brian Allen
On KLOV and other sites I'm Simpsons99
Arcade Game Scores
DKJR 1,073,800 Level F Kill screen !
DK3 TG MED Skill Level 1,365,000 Level 80?

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4150
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Recent Verisons of Mame Recording problems

Post by mahlemiut » Tue Oct 21, 2014 3:40 am

Which would be the menu that MAME gives you when you don't specify what game to play, largely there for dumb people who don't know how to operate a command line application. ;)

I'd guess something has changed in the order in which things happen, the INP file would seem to be created before game selection, or isn't re-created when the system is reset after selecting your game.

Now I'll just bring out a dev quote -- "You're doing it wrong."
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

Post Reply