Power Instinct 3

Discussion of playback questions / problems. Any recording where people have playback problems should appear here.

Moderator: Chad

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Power Instinct 3

Post by Chad » Sun Nov 23, 2008 8:07 pm

May be major playback issues with this game

http://marp.retrogames.com/r/groovef
http://marp.retrogames.com/inp/e/c/7/df ... olf106.zip

anyone get it to playback?
-skito

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4133
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Power Instinct 3

Post by mahlemiut » Sun Nov 23, 2008 8:30 pm

You used one of the Japanese BIOSes? From the title, I can see that that would be the only BIOS the game works with. Should be the default, but worth a look to check.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Re: Power Instinct 3

Post by Chad » Sun Nov 23, 2008 9:20 pm

was worth a shot but bioses 1 through 10 or bios japan dont work, most give 153500 3rd round loss result, one gives a result that loses in the 2nd match instead of 3rd, and a couple others say they wont work with that country's bios.
-skito

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4133
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Power Instinct 3

Post by mahlemiut » Mon Nov 24, 2008 12:34 am

If you're getting any game at all, then you are using a japanese BIOS for sure. It will not start up with a non-japanese BIOS (damn region locking).

No BIOS is obviously marked as the default, so I presume that -bios 0 is the default (or -bios jp). There are 4 japanese BIOS all up (0 to 3).
Also, there's the debug (7) and dev[elopement] (8) BIOSes, which I'd guess would run the game too.

I would also highly recommend that newer versions of MAME be used for ST-V games. More likely to work properly.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
Phil Lamat
Regulation Coordinator
Posts: 2014
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 9:19 am

Re: Power Instinct 3

Post by Phil Lamat » Mon Nov 24, 2008 3:59 am

153,500 for me too ;
probably RTDSC stuff cause the desync

DeFrenZ
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 11:17 am

Re: Power Instinct 3

Post by DeFrenZ » Tue Nov 25, 2008 4:58 pm

the bios is the default one (should be japan epr19730)

I had some issues with playbacks too, but eventually worked out... it desynchs a little sometimes and on the long range it makes the whole go off... (even though the desynched could win a bit more before XD)
the fact is that is game is quite heavy and i played it with auto frameskip, which i realize now that wasn't a great thing...
maybe it better if i make a new inp, shouldn't be a heavy work :)

edit: forgot to say, when it didn't work i used throttle, when i didn't it worked ;)

Abbe
MARP Knight
MARP Knight
Posts: 203
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 12:32 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Power Instinct 3

Post by Abbe » Tue Nov 25, 2008 7:08 pm

I just played it back four times in a row, same settings, same everything. The result was four different scores:

466K
608K (Yep, this is the advertised score)
153K
150K

All the time without frameskip, no throttling, no pausing. I guess there is a random element lurking somewhere.

User avatar
Kale
MARP Seer
MARP Seer
Posts: 646
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 5:53 pm

Re: Power Instinct 3

Post by Kale » Wed Nov 26, 2008 11:49 am

Abbe wrote: I guess there is a random element lurking somewhere.
Real Time Clock,RTC for the friends. :wink:

(Lines from 622 of stv.c)

Code: Select all

/*"Interrupt Back"*/
case 0x10:
	if(LOG_SMPC) logerror ("SMPC: Status Acquire\n");
	smpc_ram[0x5f]=0x10;
	smpc_ram[0x21] = (0x80) | ((NMI_reset & 1) << 6);
	smpc_ram[0x23] = DectoBCD(systime.local_time.year /100);
	smpc_ram[0x25] = DectoBCD(systime.local_time.year %100);
	smpc_ram[0x27] = (systime.local_time.weekday << 4) | (systime.local_time.month+1);
	smpc_ram[0x29] = DectoBCD(systime.local_time.mday);
	smpc_ram[0x2b] = DectoBCD(systime.local_time.hour);
	smpc_ram[0x2d] = DectoBCD(systime.local_time.minute);
	smpc_ram[0x2f] = DectoBCD(systime.local_time.second);
MAME-wise,there's an implementation of the RTC get time/save time that gets into the record/playback .inps in 0.128...It's really likely that in MAME 0.106 that feature is missing.

DeFrenZ
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 11:17 am

Re: Power Instinct 3

Post by DeFrenZ » Wed Nov 26, 2008 9:32 pm

Didn't know that :(

I think it's advised to add a Special Rule "WolfMAME v128 or higher requested for inps" or similar (if 128 was the first with RTC)

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4133
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Power Instinct 3

Post by mahlemiut » Thu Nov 27, 2008 2:38 am

I'm pretty sure that I had a workaround for the ST-V RTC in wolf106... will check later.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
Phil Lamat
Regulation Coordinator
Posts: 2014
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 9:19 am

Re: Power Instinct 3

Post by Phil Lamat » Thu Nov 27, 2008 4:46 am

DeFrenZ wrote:I think it's advised to add a Special Rule "WolfMAME v128 or higher requested for inps" or similar (if 128 was the first with RTC)
First we need more testing ; could you make another inp with wolf128 (and attached there if lower) so that we can check if it playbacks ?

DeFrenZ
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 11:17 am

Re: Power Instinct 3

Post by DeFrenZ » Thu Nov 27, 2008 6:59 am

Sorry I have roms for .106 and this was updated since then :(

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Re: Power Instinct 3

Post by Chad » Thu Nov 27, 2008 11:58 am

hmm, i don't think that's the problem. Since i think i also have the old wolf106 roms too because i don't get an error when playing back. DeFrenZ, a question: can you play this game back yourself to the score you posted?
-skito

DeFrenZ
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 11:17 am

Re: Power Instinct 3

Post by DeFrenZ » Thu Nov 27, 2008 12:52 pm

DeFrenZ wrote:I had some issues with playbacks too, but eventually worked out...
i tried like 3 times and the last one worked ;) was pretty worried since then :D
Chad wrote:hmm, i don't think that's the problem. Since i think i also have the old wolf106 roms too because i don't get an error when playing back.
well wolfmame128 says the rom isn't good, but i play it at wolfplus106 :P

DeFrenZ
Button Slapper
Button Slapper
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 11:17 am

Re: Power Instinct 3

Post by DeFrenZ » Thu Jul 09, 2009 1:40 pm

So, what about it, in the end?

Post Reply