BIG RAMPAGE PLAYBACK PROBLEM!

Discussion about MARP's Tournaments

Moderator: giro-X

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4121
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Tue Jun 01, 2004 5:49 pm

The TJT wrote:If I playback in window, my rampage recording playsback only to 24k
If I playback fullscreen, playsback correct to 76k...

?
I've come across this before, affecting a few games. Parodius, Strikers 1945, maybe some others.

I thought it had been fixed some time ago though...
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
Weehawk
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2474
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:43 am
Location: Devil's Canyon
Contact:

Post by Weehawk » Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:25 pm

Chad wrote:the full screen/window relation to 98/xp interesting...
I don't know....

When I play it with "clean" XP it plays to 76,815 windowed or not.

When I play with "compromised" XP it plays to 23,100 windowed or not.

My new win98 plays to 76,815 windowed or not.
John Cunningham (JTC)
Image

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4121
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:47 pm

I've certainly not had any full screen/windowed issues on this system, that I am aware of. Like I said, I thought it was fixed or something.
- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
The TJT
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2467
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 10:56 am
Location: 20 Grand Palace

Post by The TJT » Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:55 pm

Weehawk wrote:When I play it with "clean" XP it plays to 76,815 windowed or not.

When I play with "compromised" XP it plays to 23,100 windowed or not.
Interesting, I get exactly same: 23100 when windowed. So it goes wrong exactly same time.
Actually quite interesting...

What you mean by "compromised XP"?

User avatar
Weehawk
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2474
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:43 am
Location: Devil's Canyon
Contact:

Post by Weehawk » Tue Jun 01, 2004 7:13 pm

Interesting, I get exactly same: 23100 when windowed. So it goes wrong exactly same time.
Actually quite interesting...
Fascinating...
What you mean by "compromised XP"?
My XP machine played in the set generally made up of win98 systems until I found an apocryphal dll in use. It's removal lets the system play in the other set, generally made up of XP systems.

I therefore think of that dll as having "compromised" my otherwise "clean" system, and have been using those terms to describe the sets. We could as easily call them "Set A" and "Set B". Referring to them by OS is confusing as we are finding exceptions to the general rule. (SJK's XP still plays in the "compromised" set, your win98 plays in the "clean" set unless you use windowed mode)

We're gathering enough information here that someone really clever ought to be close to a "eureka!" moment...
John Cunningham (JTC)
Image

User avatar
Weehawk
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2474
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:43 am
Location: Devil's Canyon
Contact:

Post by Weehawk » Tue Jun 01, 2004 7:20 pm

Tommi, let's try it the other way around.

Try to play Metrackle's 117k in fullscreen and windowed and tell us what happens.
John Cunningham (JTC)
Image

User avatar
mahlemiut
Editor
Posts: 4121
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2002 10:05 pm
Location: New Zealand
Contact:

Post by mahlemiut » Tue Jun 01, 2004 7:58 pm

- Barry Rodewald
MARP Assistant Web Maintainer
Image

User avatar
The TJT
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2467
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 10:56 am
Location: 20 Grand Palace

Post by The TJT » Tue Jun 01, 2004 11:12 pm

Important news:

Seems like A and B set playback problem is about memory settings.


Ok, I found way to playback all rampage recordings +propably many others. :!: :D

Background: TJT's rampage didn't playback correctly "windowed".
Metrackle's rampage didn't playback with fullscreen.
Gameguru's Jedi recording didn't playback(with m37b8, dos)

Got them all working at changing memory settings of command.com(dosprompt). see picture below, normally dosprompt properties are all "auto"...with mamep.exe and m37b8 ...DOS versions of WolfMame and Mame, played back at dosprompt...


TJT's rampage: works when all memory settings are "auto", or EMS "none"
(gets only to 23100 when XMS is "none")

Metrackle's rampage: works when XMS is "none" (gets only at 28200 when EMS is "auto","none" or any value)

Gameguru's jedi: works when XMS or EMS is "none"
(if all memory settings are handled by windows, desyncs at very beginning)
-------
So you should be able to playback any of these so called A+B set games with dosmame, simply changing XMS- or EMS-memory to "NONE" at command.com properties (picture below)...or better, changing properties for whatever shortcut you use for dosprompt. Works fine for me, hope it works for other marpers too.

Cheers,

TJT

pictures:
1. changing memory settings

2. mem /c -command displayed at my machine when XMS memory is defined as "none".
(when EMS is "none", 2 lines where ems is mentioned are missing, and there should be more free xms)

(you may have to also put in your config.sys, lines:
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE)

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Post by Chad » Wed Jun 02, 2004 12:47 am

good potential fix but unfortunatley it's not an extended memory fix for all!

I did the same thing with my 98 boot and i still can't playback xp recordings with it. I think you just lucked out that not using ems moved the dlls in memory in the right place so mame does play cleanly in order to playback the xp recordings....

note i have a few bytes more free conventional memory

Free 597,792 (584K) 597,792 (584K) 0 (0K)

less (cleaner) dlls that wouldn't be tempted to move back to conventional memory so the no ems/xms doesn't work for me, at least that's my guess.
-skito

User avatar
The TJT
MARPaholic
MARPaholic
Posts: 2467
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 10:56 am
Location: 20 Grand Palace

Post by The TJT » Wed Jun 02, 2004 1:06 pm

Damn, I thought I got it :evil: :lol:

Chad, might be that your guess is right, and memory doesn't cause it...Current situation is that today my computer doesn't seem to mind about memory changes. Yet if I playback windowed or fullscreen makes the difference.

Rather strange is that today that Jedi recording playsback with m37b8 allways, no matter what I change. Earlier it didn't playback at all...

User avatar
Chad
Tournament Coordinator
Posts: 4463
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 3:15 pm
Location: calif

Post by Chad » Thu Jun 03, 2004 12:46 am

you certainly got on the right track there, tjt! You've proven memory module changes DO affect the playback bug just as moving dll's around do. So address space makes a difference for sure. Clearly, there are some undefined values being used in mame somewhere. If a program is loaded in a difference memory space and has different operation, it means there's an undefined memory bug. But bugs like that would be pretty hard to find especially when they would be such a low priority problem (i.e. mame still "works".)
-skito

Post Reply